The Archives/Record Center of the Franciscan Friars of the Atonement-Graymoor is the official repository of all the documents and materials that trace the history and activities of the community since its founding in 1898 by Fr. Paul Wattson, SA.
No dusty, dimly-lit place is this…walled with ancient manuscripts and books. Visitors enter several medium-sized, softly-lit rooms… beautifully decorated with memorabilia. In this agreeable setting, one can pore over a rich store of materials that describe the origin, history, spirit, and growth of the community.
Special features include manuscripts written by Fr. Paul Wattson, SA; oral histories and photographs of ealy members of the community; the history and evolution of the Week of Prayer for Christian Unity (first celebrated in 1908 as the Christian Unity Octave) and the Paul Wattson Unity Lectures. Also housed in the archives is information on the Centro Pro Unione (Rome, Italy) and the Catholic Central Library (London, England).
This unique collection includes The Lamp magazines (published 1903–1973) and a collection of carefully preserved records and tapes of the original broadcasts of The Ave Maria Hour (from 1935–1969).
Visitors are welcome to visit the Archives/Record Center between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. weekdays by appointment only. Contact Fr. Walter Gagne at (845) 424-3671 ext. 2120 to schedule an appointment.
Email Archives at the Franciscan Friars of the Atonement for more information.