In the picturesque Janiculum Hill area of Western Rome stands the magnificent Sant’ Onofrio Church. The official church and permanent spiritual center in Rome of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem (EOHSJ), Sant’ Onofrio has been under the care of the Franciscan Friars of the Atonement since 1946.
Sant’ Onofrio dates to 1439 and represents Renaissance art and architecture in all its brilliance. The church was a monastery for monks for many years. It was Pope Pius XI who eventually declared Sant’ Onofrio the spiritual center for the EOHSJ. This papal order of knighthood dates back to 1099.
The beauty of Sant’ Onofrio is a blessing for the Friars who maintain it. The history of the church and of the EOHSJ remains alive on Janiculum Hill. Three Friars are Knights of this venerable order: Fr. Dan O’Shea, Fr. Elias Mallon, and Fr. Emil Tomaskovic. Valerie Mastronardi is a Dame of the order.